September 15, 2016
Congratulations to the NHS 2016-17 Teacher of the Year, Luke Smith and finalists Melinda Byrne & Robert Katz!

Over 70 NHS teachers were nominated by their colleagues for this year’s Teacher of the Year award.  A selection committee narrowed these nominees down to three finalists based on their applications. The GCPS Teacher Of the Year nominees’ applications were scored with a rubric that consisted of 5 domains: Philosophy and Beliefs, Innovative Instructional Strategy, Impact on Student Achievement, Community Involvement Project, and Professional Learning Activities.  This award is not only recognition of the great things that Mr. Smith does in the classroom; it is also a celebration of all of the great things NHS teachers and staff do each and every day within the school.  

Get Involved